You are here

Department Courses

Department Courses:

 

The Academic Plan for Pathology Department:

1) Teaching and training of undergraduate medical students:

The pathology department staff members participate in all the relevant committees, in cooperation with the Department of Medical Education. They update pathology courses in the curriculum of first and second years in line with the modified system of teaching, which included all the basic courses. The department staff members participate in teaching and training in the disciplines of pathology, microbiology, medical biochemistry, immunology, hematology and human genetics for first and second year medical students. They also participate in Forensic medicine & toxicology for the third year medical students, in addition to general pathology, microbiology & immunology for second year dental students, as follows:

 

First Year Medical Blocks:

Block

Symbol

Credit hours

Foundation

111 FOND

10 (6+4)

Musculoskeletal

115 MUSC

6 (4+2)

Respiratory

112 RESP

4 (3+1)

Cardiovascular

113 CARD

7 (5+2)

Renal

114 NEPH

4 (3+1)

 

Second Year Medical Blocks:

Block

Symbol

Credit hours

Central Nervous System

222 NEURO

12 (8+4)

Gastrointestinal & Nutrition

223 DIGST

4 (3+1)

Endocrine

225 ENDO

6 (4+2)

Reproduction

224 REPRO

6 (4+2)

 

Third Year Medical Blocks:

Block

Symbol

Credit hours

Forensic medicine & Toxicology

321 FORM

3 (2+1)

 

Second Year Dental Courses:

Block

Symbol

Credit hours

 General Pathology

231 PATH

2 (2+0)

Microbiology and Immunology

221 MAC

2(2+0)

 

In addition, the department faculty members participate in teaching several courses for other KSU Colleges (e.g. Hematology, Clinical Mycology and Microbiology for the College of Applied Medical Sciences).

Contact information for the Department representatives in the Blocks’ Committees

BLOCK COMMITTEE (FIRST YEAR)  

 

                                                  FOUNDATION BLOCK (FOND 111)

Chairperson: Dr. Nervana Bayoumi

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Prof. Ammar Al-Rikabi

Pathology

rikabi@ksu.edu.sa

2

Prof. Adel Almogren

Immunology

almogren@ksu.edu.sa

3

Dr. Abdulkarim Al Hetheel

Microbiology

aalhetheel@ksu.edu.sa

4

Dr. Usman Ghani

Biochemistry

ughani@ksu.edu.sa

 

MUSCULOSKELETAL BLOCK  (MUSC 115)

Chairperson: Dr. Ahmed Bin Nassir            

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Dr. Afaf Alsolami

Pathology

afaf.ihs@gmail.com

2

Prof. Adel Almogren

Immunology

almogren@ksu.edu.sa

3

Prof. Ali Somily

Microbiology

somily@ksu.edu.sa

4

Dr. Essa Sabi

Biochemistry

esabi@ksu.edu.sa

RESPIRATORY BLOCK (RESP 112)

Chairperson: Dr. Malak Mohsen El Hazmi                                  

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Dr. Wajd Althaqafi

Pathology

walthaqafi@ksu.edu.sa

2

Prof. Zahid Shakoor

Immunology

zshakoor@ksu.edu.sa

3

Dr. Malak Mohsen El Hazmi

Microbiology

melhazmi@ksu.edu.sa

4

Dr. Ahmed Mujamammi

Biochemistry

amujamammi@ksu.edu.sa

                                                CARDIOVASCULAR BLOCK (CARD 113)        

Chairperson: Dr. Mona Abdul Hafeeth Suliman                      

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Dr. Sufia Husain

Pathology

suhusain@ksu.edu.sa

2

Prof. Adel Almogren

Immunology

almogren@ksu.edu.sa

3

Prof. Hanan Habib

Microbiology

hahabib@ksu.edu.sa

4

Dr. Ahmed Mujamammi

Biochemistry

amujamammi@ksu.edu.sa

RENAL BLOCK  (NEPH 114)

Chairperson: Dr. Talal Alfadel                  

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Dr. Tariq Aljohani

Pathology

taaljohani@ksu.edu.sa

2

Prof. Zahid Shakoor

Immunology

zshakoor@ksu.edu.sa

3

Dr. Malak Mohsen El Hazmi

Microbiology

melhazmi@ksu.edu.sa

4

Dr. Rana Hasanato

Biochemistry

rhasanato@ksu.edu.sa

 

BLOCK COMMITTEE (SECOND YEAR)

CNS/SPECIAL SENSES/MENTAL HEALTH BLOCK (NERV 222)

Chairperson: Prof. Sultan Meo                                                          

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Dr. Hisham Al-Khalidi

Pathology

halkhalidi@ksu.edu.sa

2

Dr. Fawzia Al-Otaibi

Microbiology

ofawzia@ksu.edu.sa

3

Dr. Sumbul Fatma

Biochemistry

sfatma@ksu.edu.sa

GASTROINTESTINAL & HEMATOLOGY BLOCK (GITN 223)

Chairperson: Dr. Othman Al Harbi       

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Dr. Ahmed Al-Humaidi

Pathology

aalhumaidi@ksu.edu.sa    

2

Dr. Ibrahim Alkhalaifi

Microbiology

ialkhalifi@ksu.edu.sa

3

Dr. Ziad Kordee

Biochemistry

zkordee@ksu.edu.sa

4

Dr. Fatma Algahtani

Hematology

fatma@ksu.edu.sa

ENDOCRINE BLOCK (ENDO 225)

Chairperson: Prof. Riyad Sulimani                              

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

 DR. Amani Abdulqader Fathuddin

Pathology

 afathaddin@ksu.edu.sa

2

Dr. Abdulkarim Al Hetheel

Microbiology

aalhetheel@ksu.edu.sa

3

Dr. Usman Ghani

Biochemistry

ughani@ksu.edu.sa                                                                                                     

REPRODUCTIVE BLOCK (REPR 224)

Chairperson: Prof. Malak Alhakeem                                            

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Dr. Maria Arafah

Pathology

mariaarafah@yahoo.com

2

Prof. Zahid Shakoor

Immunology

zshakoor@ksu.edu.sa

3

Dr. Mona Badr

Microbiology

monabadr@ksu.edu.sa

4

Dr. Sumbul Fatma

Biochemistry

sfatma@ksu.edu.sa

PROFESSIONALISM BLOCK (SKLL 221)

 Chairperson : Prof. Hanan Habib                                                                                                        

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Prof. Hanan Habib   

Microbiology

hahabib@ksu.edu.sa                    

 

 

Course Committee (THIRD YEAR)

FORENSIC MEDICINE & TOXICOLOGY (FORM 321)

 

 

Members

Department/Unit

E.mail

1

Dr. Khaldoon Al Jerian   

Forensic Medicine

khaldoonaljerian@gmail.com                

 

 

General Pathology 231 PATH

Member

Department/Unit

E.mail

 

Dr. Mohammad Alswayyed

Pathology

malswayyed@ksu.edu.sa

 

Microbiology and Immunology 221 MAC

Member

Department/Unit

E.mail

 

Dr. Khalefah Bin KHamees

Microbiology

kbinkhamis@ksu.edu.sa   

 

 

 

 

 

 

SEO keyword: 
Department Courses